BoardWomen Partners

Promoting gender diversity on corporate boards of directors

THE BOARDWOMEN PARTNERS PROGRAMME

The goal of the BoardWomen Partners program, launched in June 2007, is to significantly increase the percentage of women serving on corporate boards of directors.

The BWP programme is based on the commitment of Chairmen and CEOs and/or the Chairmen of Boards of Directors of large companies in France (CAC40, SBF120 and equivalent), who are convinced that a better gender balance will help improve the administration and performance of their businesses.

This programmes objectives are:

  • Develop a pool of women who are qualified to serve on a corporation’s board of directors
  • Provide these women with greater visibility, by putting them in direct contact with CEOs or Chairmen of corporate boards
  • Prepare women for this role over a three-year period.
Bertrand Collomb

« A better balance of men and women at all levels of corporate responsibility is an important objective. There are women in every company with the qualities to be excellent board members, but they are largely or completely unknown to the company’s president or nominating committee. Experience from this program shows that after mentoring by company presidents, these women quickly become ready to serve as board members. This program will not only help to increase diversity on boards of directors, but will also enable these women to broaden their experience and enhance their visibility, and in the process increase their likelihood of being appointed to executive committees »

Bertrand Collomb , Director of LafargeHolcim

The programme’s operating principles:

The program is based on the principle of cross-mentoring, pairing corporate CEOs with senior women executives.

Each Chairman:

  • Proposes one or more women from his company to service as “mentees”. They will be introduced to the Chairman of another company participating in the BWP program.
  • Agrees to meet with a “high-potential” woman executive from another company. These meetings are coordinated by the Diafora/BWP team to ensure confidentiality and non-competition.

With one basic principle:

  • Commitment: the role of Mentor may not be delegated to someone else

 

Mentors and their mentees meet regularly two-to-three times per year.

The ‘matching’ (or mentor/mentee partnership) is created and managed by the Diafora-BWP team in collaboration with the steering committee. All Chairmen reunite once a year and the mentees two or three times a year.

 

AS OF 30th JUNE 2016, THE PROGRAMME INCLUDED 34 CHAIRMEN AND 74 MENTEES. 

Estelle Brachlianoff

"The idea of joining a board had never crossed my mind until, to my great surprise, my Chairman suggested it to me! He was right, because it also enhances how I now view my role as executive. The BoardWomen Partners program helped me move from the idea to reality. The BWP program helped me gain confidence and understand what I could contribute to a board, but was also helpful for targeting those boards that might suit me better than others; moreover, it raised my profile for the purpose of joining that initial board. My conversations with mentees who had experienced the same doubts and who shared their enthusiasm were especially enlightening and inspiring. Over time, the program is likely to bring everyone to the realization that diversity on corporate boards is much more than just a legal obligation – it’s a key component in successful corporate governance.”

Estelle Brachlianoff , Senior Executive Vice-President UK & Northern Europe at Veolia
Agnès Lemarchand

“As a senior executive at Lafarge for nearly 10 years, then as CEO of a British firm, formerly part of Lafarge, that was acquired with their leaders in 2005, despite a positive initial experience on the Supervisory Board at Mersen, I was the perfect example of a woman with little visibility in France and a limited network of contacts. Joining the BWP program opened the door to CAC 40 and SBF 120 companies and quickly made it possible for me to join the board at Areva. This is a relevant program; I salute the commitment of the two founders and the contribution of each of the CEOs involved, who donate their time to expanding women access to positions of responsibility.”

Agnès Lemarchand , CEO of Orchad, Member of the Board of directors at Saint-Gobain, CGG et Biomérieux, Ex member of the Board of directors at Mersen and Areva

A NON-PROFIT PROGRAMME

The BoardWomen Partners programme is a non-profit mentoring programme launched and managed by Marie-Claude Peyrache and Véronique Préaux-Cobti, both involved in the professional promotion of women for more than ten years, and is supported by l’AFEP.

BWP is a non-profit initiative managed within Diafora, a consulting firm that specializes in the issue of diversity in corporate leadership. It is overseen by a steering committee.


KEY FIGURES

As of 30th June 2016, BoardWomen Partners included :

bourse-home 36 managers-home34 femmes-home 74 mentors-home49
Participating companies CEO Mentors Mentees Mentees have joined a corporate board
Benoît Potier

“I felt we had to act to give greater visibility to candidates within companies who show the potential to join corporate boards of directors. The BWP program demonstrates that it’s possible to identify top-caliber candidates and help them progress by benefiting from the experience of CEOs. It allows for a balanced approach over time, and it’s clearly given greater visibility to several participants. Plus, one of the program’s undeniable benefits is that it has made executives more aware of the need to prepare more effectively for the addition of women to corporate boards. The process will take time, and in my opinion it is more important to take fundamental steps rather than urgent action.”

Benoît Potier , Chairman and CEO, Air Liquide

COMPANIES PARTICIPATING OR HAVING PARTICIPATED TO THE BWP PROGRAM  :

ACCOR HOTELS
ADECCO
AIR FRANCE-KLM
AIR LIQUIDE
AREVA
AVIVA FRANCE
AXA
BNP PARIBAS
BPCE
BURELLE
CGG
DARTY
EDENRED
EDF
ENGIE
FAURECIA
GECINA
GENERALI FRANCE
GROUPE LA POSTE
GROUPE PSA
ICADE
LAFARGE HOLCIM
L’OREAL
McKINSEY
MICHELIN
NOKIA
ORANGE
PARIS AEROPORT
PERNOD RICARD
RATP
SAFRAN
SAINT GOBAIN
SANOFI
SCHNEIDER ELECTRIC
SCOR
SEQUANA
SNCF
SOCIETE GENERALE
SODEXO
SOLVAY
SOPRA STERIA GROUP
SUEZ ENVIRONNEMENT
TECHNIP
TOTAL
UNIBAIL-RODAMCO
VALEO
VEOLIA
ZODIAC AEROSPACE

Diafora
BoardWomen Partners

Promouvoir la mixité au sein des Conseils d’administrations

LE PROGRAMME BOARDWOMEN PARTNERS

Lancé en juin 2007, le programme BoardWomen Partners a pour but d’augmenter de façon significative le pourcentage de femmes au sein des conseils d’administration des grandes entreprises.

Ce programme rassemble des PDG et Présidents de conseils d’administration de très grandes sociétés (CAC40, SBF120 et équivalent), convaincus qu’une plus grande mixité au sein des conseils d’administration contribuera à une meilleure gouvernance et à une plus grande performance de leur entreprise.

LES OBJECTIFS DE CE PROGRAMME SONT DE :

  • Développer un vivier de femmes qualifiées pour accéder à un poste d’administrateur d’une grande entreprise.
  • Donner à ces femmes une meilleure visibilité, en les mettant en contact directement avec les PDG ou les Présidents des conseils d’administration.
  • Préparer les femmes à ce rôle à horizon de 3 ans.
Bertrand Collomb

« Un meilleur équilibre entre les femmes et les hommes à tous les postes de responsabilités des entreprises est un objectif important. Il y a dans les entreprises des femmes qui ont des qualités pour être d’excellents administrateurs, mais elles sont peu ou pas connues des présidents et des conseils de nominations. L’expérience du programme montre que le mentoring par des présidents les conduit rapidement à être prêtes pour un poste d’administrateur. Ce programme, non seulement contribuera à accroitre la diversité des conseils d’administrations, mais permettra aussi à ces femmes d’élargir leur expérience et leur visibilité, et ainsi d’avoir plus de chance d’accéder à des comités exécutifs »

Bertrand Collomb , Administrateur de LafargeHolcim

PRINCIPES DE FONCTIONNEMENT DU PROGRAMME

Ce programme est conçu sur la base d’un mentoring croisé mettant en relation Présidents de grandes entreprises et femmes seniors.

Chaque Président :

  • Propose le nom d’une ou plusieurs femmes, mentees, de son entreprise, qui sera mise en contact avec le Président d’une autre entreprise participante au programme BWP.
  • S’engage à rencontrer une femme ‘Haut potentiel » venant d’une autre entreprise. Ces rencontres sont coordonnées par l’équipe Diafora-BWP dans un respect de confidentialité et de non-concurrence.

 

Sur un principe fondamental :

  • Engagement : le rôle de Mentor ne peut pas être délégué

 

Le Mentor et la Mentee se rencontrent ensuite sur une base régulière de 2 à 3 rencontres par an.
Le « matching » est effectué par l‘équipe Diafora-BWP.
Ce programme réunit les Présidents une fois par an, les Mentees deux à trois fois par an.

AU 30 JUIN 2016, CE PROGRAMME REUNIT 34 PRESIDENTS ET 74 MENTEES.

Estelle Brachlianoff

« L'idée de rejoindre un conseil ne m'avait pas traversé l'esprit avant que mon Président ne me le suggère, à ma grande surprise ! Il avait raison, car cela enrichit aussi la façon dont je conçois maintenant mon métier d'exécutif. BoardWomen Partners m'a permis de passer de l'idée à la réalité. Le programme m’a permis de gagner en confiance et comprendre ce que l'on peut apporter à un conseil, mais aussi cibler ceux qui peuvent vous convenir mieux que d'autres, et enfin se faire connaitre pour rejoindre un premier conseil. L'échange avec des mentees ayant traversé les mêmes doutes, partagé leur enthousiasme, est particulièrement éclairant, et inspirant. Il devrait permettre progressivement à tous de constater que la diversité dans les conseils est un facteur clé de succès de gouvernance, bien plus qu'une simple obligation légale. »

Estelle Brachlianoff , Vice-Présidente Exécutif Royaume-Uni & Irelande - Veolia
Agnès Lemarchand « Cadre dirigeant chez Lafarge pendant près de 10 ans puis président exécutif d’une entreprise anglaise (ex Lafarge) reprise avec les dirigeants en 2005, malgré une première expérience positive au conseil de surveillance de Mersen j’étais le parfait exemple de la femme peu visible en France et n’ayant pas développé ses réseaux. L’intégration dans le programme BWP a été le sésame pour l’accès à des entreprises du CAC 40 et du SBF120 et m’a permis d’intégrer rapidement un conseil, celui d’Areva. Ce programme est pertinent ; je salue l’engagement des deux fondatrices et l’implication de tous les présidents associés qui donnent de leur temps pour promouvoir l’accession de femmes aux postes de responsabilités. »
Agnès Lemarchand , Président de Orchad, Administrateur de Saint-Gobain, CGG et Biomérieux, Ex. membre des conseils de surveillance d'Areva et de Mersen

UNE INITIATIVE A BUT NON LUCRATIF

Le programme BWP a été fondé et est piloté par Marie-Claude Peyrache et Véronique Préaux-Cobti , engagées de longue date dans la promotion des femmes au sein des entreprises, et bénéficie depuis son lancement du support de l’AFEP. BWP est un programme à but non lucratif, géré au sein de Diafora, cabinet de conseil spécialisé sur les questions de diversité en leadership. Il est animé par un comité de pilotage.


CHIFFRES CLES

Au 30 Juin 2016, BoardWomen Partners a réuni :

picto36 picto34 picto74 picto49
Entreprises participantes Présidents Mentors Mentees Mentees ont intégré un conseil
Benoît Potier

« Il me paraît nécessaire d’agir pour donner plus de visibilité à des candidates internes aux entreprises susceptibles de rejoindre les Conseils d’administration des sociétés. Le programme BWP montre qu’il est possible d’identifier des candidates de valeur et de les accompagner dans leur progression en leur faisant bénéficier de l’expérience des dirigeants. Il permet une approche équilibrée, dans la durée, et il a clairement donné plus de visibilité à certaines participantes. Par ailleurs, la prise de conscience des dirigeants sur la nécessité de mieux préparer la féminisation des conseils est un bénéfice incontestable du programme. Le processus prendra du temps, et il me semble important d’agir en profondeur plus que dans l’urgence. »

Benoît Potier , Président Directeur Général, Air Liquide

LES ENTREPRISES PARTICIPANT OU AYANT PARTICIPE AU PROGRAMME BWP :

ACCOR HOTELS
ADECCO
AIR FRANCE-KLM
AIR LIQUIDE
AREVA
AVIVA FRANCE
AXA
BNP PARIBAS
BPCE
BURELLE
CGG
DARTY
EDENRED
EDF
ENGIE
FAURECIA
GECINA
GENERALI FRANCE
GROUPE LA POSTE
GROUPE PSA
ICADE
LAFARGE HOLCIM
L’OREAL
McKINSEY
MICHELIN
NOKIA
ORANGE
PARIS AEROPORT
PERNOD RICARD
RATP
SAFRAN
SAINT GOBAIN
SANOFI
SCHNEIDER ELECTRIC
SCOR
SEQUANA
SNCF
SOCIETE GENERALE
SODEXO
SOLVAY
SOPRA STERIA GROUP
SUEZ ENVIRONNEMENT
TECHNIP
TOTAL
UNIBAIL-RODAMCO
VALEO
VEOLIA
ZODIAC AEROSPACE